New Curriculum- Reading objective posters

The new curriculum states what reading objectives are expected to be taught in year 1, year 2, years 3 & 4 and years 5 & 6.  

Recent DfE publications and sample 2016 test materials have identified a set of ‘assessable elements’, which are replacing AFs for reading. These assessable elements are arranged in the following strands and are coded:

(coded 1C for KS1 and 2C for KS2)

Making Inferences
(coded 1MI for KS1 and 2MI for KS2)

Language for effect
(coded 1LfE for KS1 and 2LfE for KS2)

Themes and Conventions
(coded 1TC for KS1 and 2TC for KS2)

1C1, 1C2, 1C3, 1C4 and 1C5

MI1 and MI2


Not tested at KS1

2C1, 2C2, 2C3, 2C4, 2C5, 2C6, 2C7, 2C8, 2C9, 2C10

MI1, MI2, MI3

LfE1, LfE2

TC1, TC2

Each of the assessable elements can be cross-referenced to reading objectives in the national curriculum.
These classroom posters have been written in line with the objectives from the new curriculum. They have been changed to a question form so that teachers can display them in classrooms, reading areas and libraries. The skills required are colour coded rather than year group labelled so that teachers can use them with pupils who may be working at a level below their peers.

Teachers may refer to them in guided reading sessions to ensure that their questions cover a range of assessable elements. Pupils may use these posters to identify types of questions and to assess their own strengths and areas for development.

Added to your basket: