Scaled scores at key stage 1

In summer 2016, primary schools will use teacher assessment judgements to report on children's progress at the end of key stage 1. These judgements should take into account a child's performance in the national tests in mathematics and English. This year, the Department for Education will use scaled scores to report the outcomes of the national tests. The number of marks that children will need to score in order to reach a scaled score of 100 in 2016 has now been released. Have a look at our brief summary below for further information.

What is a scaled score?

A child's scaled score is based on their raw score. The raw score is the total number of marks a child scores in a test. You can calculate a child's raw score by adding together the total scores from both papers in each subject. For example, to calculate a child's raw score for English reading, simply add together the scores from both the English reading Paper 1 and English reading Paper 2.

A scaled score of 100 will always represent the expected standard on the test. Children scoring 100 or more will have met the expected standard. The raw score is converted into a scaled score, using the conversion table here

The marks required to reach a scaled score of 100 at KS1 in 2016 are:

– Maths: 37 out of 60

– Reading: 22 out of 40

– Grammar, punctuation and spelling: 25 out of 40

Range of scaled scores

The range of scaled scores for each test will stay the same each year. 85 is the lowest scaled score for KS1 tests, and 115 is the highest. A child who scores 99 or less has not met the expected standard.

On the conversion table, you'll notice that children need to achieve a minimum raw score before they can be awarded the lowest scaled score. These children will not have demonstrated sufficient understanding of the KS1 curriculum, and may be assessed using the pre-key stage standards.

Using and interpreting test outcomes

Teachers should use evidence from the national tests to inform their assessment judgements for each child. It is possible for a child to have met the expected standard in the national tests, but not for teacher assessment. This is because the interim teacher assessment frameworks rely on achieving all of the 'pupil can' statements, whereas the national tests assess knowledge across the whole of the key stage. Taken together, these two types of assessment should provide a broader picture of children's attainment.

For more information about scaled scores and teacher assessment in key stage 1, visit the DfE website here. 


english, grammar, key stage 1, maths, national tests, raw scores, reading, scaled scores

Added to your basket: